Which foods can’t I eat on a gluten free diet?

Share Now:

This list shouldn’t substitute checking labels carefully, but use it as a guide, so you know which foodgroups to avoid:

Unsafe food and drinks

  • Barley
  • Beer, lager and stout
  • Biscuits
  • Bran
  • Bread
  • Breaded meat (chicken kievs, chicken katsu)
  • Cakes, doughnuts and muffins
  • Cereals and granola
  • Chutneys
  • Condiments (ketchup, mayonnaise, barbecue sauce)
  • Cous cous
  • Crackers and some crisps
  • Croutons
  • Energy bars
  • Flour
  • Gravy
  • Noodles
  • Oats
  • Pancakes and waffles
  • Pasta
  • Pastries
  • Pasties
  • Pies
  • Pre-made coffee and chocolate drinks
  • Ready meals
  • Sauces (pre-made pasta/curry sauces in jars)
    Soy sauce and other dressings)
  • Spelt
  • Stuffing
  • Takeaway food (sauces in Chinese and Indian takeaways particularly)
  • Wheat

Foods that may contain gluten

It will depend on the flavour and/or cooking method as to whether these foods contain gluten or not. Always read the labels carefully.

  • Chocolate
  • Chips
  • Crisps
  • Ice cream
  • Processed meats (including bacon and sausages)
  • Soup (pre-made soup in tins and cartons)
  • Vegan or vegetarian meat substitutes

Safe food and drinks

These days, the free from aisles are full of gluten free alternatives to many favourite foods which arefull of flavour. But there are plenty of naturally gluten free foods too:

  • Beans (not in sauce)
  • Buckwheat
  • Cheese
  • Chickpeas
  • Eggs
  • Fish (not breaded or battered)
  • Fruit (fresh)
  • Herbs and spices (fresh and dried)
  • Lentils
  • Meat (not breaded or battered)
  • Nuts and seeds (check labels for coatings on flavoured nuts such as dry roasted)
  • Potatoes
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Rice noodles
  • Tea and coffee (check for flavourings)
  • Vegetables (fresh)
  • Wines and spirits
  • Yoghurt